Dave Grohl influenced by ABBA?


What one can be a source of inspiration for the new Foo Fighter’s album, Wasting Light? Lots of band names come up to my mind, but I’d have never thought about Abba and Bee Gees.

As Dave Grohl states, he also looked towards them for inspiration : “I like loads of crazy-ass, dissonant, distorted rock ‘n’ roll, but I also love , bands whose pop choruses get bigger and bigger. I love anthemic choruses, that overwhelming feeling of release that you can connect with.” He added: “So whenever I thought I had a big enough chorus for a song, I would use that as the pre-chorus and then I would try and write something even bigger, like they did.” (source NME.com).

To listen to the full new album on streaming go their official soundcloud.com page, guest spots from Bob Mould and Krist Novoselic included.

Leave a Reply

