If You Were…Vessels


Today I am going to introduce you to Vessels, an indie rock quintet from Leeds. This post-rock (math/electro/experimental) has been around since 2005, one year later the band self-released a five track eponymous EP and started touring. In 2007, Vessels travelled to Minneapolis, US,  to record their debut album.  They recorder the ten-track album and returned to the UK for a nationwide tour. On August 18 of the same year ‘White Fields & Open Devices’. The sophomore ‘Helioscope‘ was released last March via Cuckundoo Records. Today Tom Evans (guitar, vocals, keyboards) and Tim Mitchell (drums) are going to answer to the tricky If you Were questions.

-Hello, My name is Tim and I play the drums in Vessels. I am originally from
Newcastle upon Tyne but I moved to Leeds in 1998 to study. It was here that
I met Lee and we decided to form a band of some description. This has taken
various forms over the last decade but we became Vessels in 2005 and have
had the same line-up since 2007 when Pete joined.

-I’m Tom and I play guitar and keyboard and very occasionally open my mouth as well.

If you were a color, which one would you be?

Tim: Green, due to its calming abilities!
Tom: Also green, but due to it being the same colour as peas (Peasman is the name of my solo work).

If you were an ice-cream flavour?

Tim: Coffee – I am addicted to caffeine.
Tom: Neapolitan, as it is not only an ice-cream flavour but a chord change.

If you were a movie?

Tim: Inland Empire – slightly pretentious and goes on a bit!
Tom: Waking Life.

If you were an instrument?

Tim: French Horn.
Tom: Kora (a west African harp).

If you were a super power?

Tim: Good question, after a lot of thought I would say Silver Surfer – he can
surf like a demon and manipulate the universe’s ambient energy for a variety
of effects which is obviously me.
Tom: The power to stop any conversation in it’s tracks with the interjection of a half remembered anectode that I can start but not finish.

If you were a book?

Tim: This is a hard one. One might be Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky
in that I struggle with the idea of free will and its consequences ,but not in the
sense that I am likely to randomly kill people for no reason just because I can!
Tom: Attack Of The Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons by Bill Watterson.

Leave a Reply

