Why is an apple talking to me?


Banoffee cupcake is officially the answer. To everything. Let’s treat it as a birthday cake for the blog. This small little blog, after having taken its first step into the Net two years ago, is now still proudly part of the official blogosphere.

I still remember the day I started to write, and I endlessly sent emails to bands, asking for some music to review, an interview to feature, or even just a cookie. Then things started changing, and When the Music is Over was there, in the middle of the digital revolution of the music industry. And its glorious dreams of becoming a huge webzine were replaced by the acceptation of being a tiny, cozy and chatty blog with a mission. The mission of giving a chance to all of those artists that want to be heard, loved and guided. You would be surprised of how much a simple “thank you” email still makes my day. After two years, the blog has new followers, some new playground friends, and a huge music catalogue, which is far from running out of sources.

I’d like to thank Mark, my boyfriend, for the time he takes to read my posts, give me feedback and proofread my English. Without you I’d be lost, and I’d lose my bouncyness and smile. I’d like to thank you, the musicians, for delivering so much music, and taking the time to share your tunes with me. Thank you readers, for being so patient with me, and stand my random digressions, my overly chattiness, and my terrible puns. After two years, both me and When the Music is Over are grown up, and a lot of new, exciting changes are there, just waiting for me to close this new transitional chapter and start a brand new one. But it’s too early to spoil the surprise, for now enjoy my new gift to my baby.

Periodically I’ll give you via Soundcloud a mixtape of free music by the artists I featured on the previous month. Moreover, as you may have seen, I have changed the layout to something less professional and webzine-y, and more bloggy. However, it is fresher, it is more spring-like, and reflects the direction I am taking with the blog. No matter what, I want to keep my voice the unconventional witty one you are now used to, even if it means having an apple talking as a header of another DIY music blog. You may ask me…why? I ask you instead…why not?

Spread the music, share the love.

Fab “Electra”

Leave a Reply

