Taste the Music: The Birthday Suit, Ela Orleans, Fever Fever


The Birthday Suit

I know that it may sound a bit cliché, but the sun makes me so, so, so bouncy – and who knows me may not believe I can get bouncier than my usual. My belated Spring-celebratory song is actually The Birthday Suit‘s new single, which you’ll find featured today.

However, I stopped myself from staying out all day, avoiding work and writing, and I decided to have just quick random breaks to enjoy most of it. You all know how much does the sun last in the UK, right? However, with this positive and energetic mood I introduce you to some new (and old) vibe worth listening to.

Has spring kicked in in your lovely cities? Have you got a belated Spring-celebratory song?

Fab

The Birthday Suit – ‘Uh-huh Uh-huh’

Long story short, from the ashes of Idlewild, The Birthday Suit was born. Since The Birthday Suit released their début last year, the band have embarked upon several successful UK tours and gained many fans in the process. The sophomore A Conversation Well Rehearsed, was released on 3rd December 2012, and quickly followed by the single “Less Worthless Years”. The Birthday Suit’s next single “Uh-Huh Uh-Huh” is out on April 15th 2013. The upbeat rock vibe, which shows one side of the band (INSERT FRIGHTENED RABBIT SIDE) – the one brave enough to create a track packed with polyphonic vocals; just imagine the title repeated during the course of the song by some fictional rugby players doing the Haka. As that wasn’t enough, the band dare to go crazy with the electric guitar. Wait until hear the solo near the end before calling me crazy.

Ela Orleans – Tumult in the Clouds

It may be that the video is quite disturbing, or it may as well be my disturbed mind is intrigued by repetitive lethargy and hypnotic melodies and ambient Micheal Herbert-like sound experimentation.Tumult in the Clouds is the title track of the new LP (out via Clandestine Records) by Polish-born, Brooklyn-based Ela Orleans. Not sure how to describe it yet; however, this track is so, so surreal that it requires a spin. Preferably whilst watching the war-related video, also because without the subtitles you may lose the few lyrics that happen in the middle of the 7-minute song, taken from the poem “An Irish Airman Foresees His Death” by W.B. Yeats. Delay and repeated patterns seem to try and convey a very unique emotional sort of discomfort.

Fever Fever – Beautiful Dream

They followed the blog on twitter, I checked out the video and I loved it. I loved the vibe, the random bells, the drum patterns and the folk-y vibe. It winks at all the most hyped artists you may think of, despite not really wanting to (well, at least that’s what I think). We have the delayed riff kicking in at the right time, clean vocals, an Editors-esque climax (again, a big no-no to the Editor-related gloom, just the delayed riff). There are strings a là Among Brothers and random light bulbs everywhere. I could have found something more recent, I know, but I just loved this video. And this track. No guys, you owe me an interview. I need to have a taste of your new sound somehow, don’t I?

Leave a Reply

