Review/Interview with Crystal Shipsss


crystal

Are you ready for some wild psych-pop? I know, now you want me to explain to you what psych-pop is. Well, let’s the one concerned, Crystal Shipsss (solo project of Jacob Faurholt) explain it a bit better for us: “the term goes way back, but I haven’t really listened to a lot of old psychedelic bands. Maybe I would mention a band like The Flaming Lips, they at least have psychedelic elements in their music. Psych-Pop was just mentioned in several reviews of CS’ debut album “Yay”, but personally I would probably describe the music as noise-pop. And live, where we are three piece, with Evelyn Marie Malinowski from Experimental Housewife on drums, and William Kudahl Sørensen from Infants on bass, we are pretty noisy and at times heavy.”

After the first spin of the EP, it becomes clear that fuzz and noise are the leading trademarks of the whole collection. Noami Punk team up with Beach House in an intricate net of delays and echoes, using mainly his electric guitar and the vocal effect pedal. Despite the minimal instrumental approach, the general result is a wall of noisy-sound, which may be related to the bands who accompanied him during the recordings: “Making “Yay”, I was listening to bands like Galaxie 500, Sonic Youth, Times New Viking, No Age, Dinosaur Jr, and Nadja”.

This does not mean that he’s musical influences are merely noise-focused. From Nirvana to Smashing Pumpkins, the 90s have a huge legacy on Crystal Shipsss: “I once traded an Alice In Chains EP (Jar of Flies) with Mariah Carey’s “Music Box”, and that still hurts!

Of course, if somebody named after a Doors’ song comes up, I am obliged to ask them where their name comes from, and if it was somehow related to it: “Actually yes, but without me being aware of it at first. Just after moving to Berlin I read Patti Smith’s book “Just Kids”. I found it very inspiring, and there is a line in there, that says something like “It was the summer Coltrane died. The summer of Crystal Ship.” So that’s where I got the name. Later on I was asked the same question, and after doing a little research, I found out that she was referring to The Doors. So I guess the answer to your question is yes.” Now he has made my day. Anyway, the album is highly influenced by Jacob’s creative process, which highlights a spontaneity that could almost be reconnected to the early punk philosophy: “I am a firm believer in not over-thinking things, try to capture moments instead of rerecord (or cut & glue) until everything is “perfect”. I also think that it is, in some ways, an advantage that I don’t really know what I am doing. So there is not a lot of right or wrong in the process of making the music. There is only: “do I like what I hear?

2013 is going to be a busy year for Crystal Shipsss: the  album “Dirty Dancer”, mastered  by James Plotkin (Nadja, ISIS, Earth, and more) will be released in September 2013, in the meanwhile, you can keep your ears busy with a new EP coming out May 6 (on limited cassette/download).

Cover Album
Crystal Shipsss  EP
Similar Artist: Naomi Punk, Crystal Coast
Rating:

Leave a Reply

