Taste the Music of…Baywaves


baywaves

I love words, and I love playing with words (punning, twisting). Therefore, I appreciate when a band knows how to catch the attention, for example describing themselves as dream dark psychedelic hypnagogic hard pop. These are small things that catch my attention. However, I must admit that I cannot hear much dark and psychedelic vibe in Baywaves music. 

There is though a “wave-esque” approach, in the way samples and delayed guitars interweave and relate. If I had to rewrite the description, I’d change it in “mellow glossy echo-laden pop (with a pinch of psychedelia)”. Despite its melancholic reverberant melodies, Baywaves adds a post-wave touch with the rumbling bass of the B-side “Figures”, detaching from the dreamy-pop area, to deserve its own tagline.

 

Leave a Reply

